Daily Archives: February 28, 1942

28 February 1942 [Saturday]

English Translation

Kitty and the kids are seasick; it is rough weather again.  They sleep in my cabin on the bunk, the couch and the floor, while I sleep in the map room on a bench.

In the afternoon, all of a sudden the ‘Siporak‘ turns around to go back, which disturbs the native crew. They start talking about insubordination if I don’t go back, and I am afraid of sabotage.  The officers are also not very comfortable.  Not only about their families but also about the risk we are taking by running so far offshore, all the more so with the weather not improving.

I talk to all of them and make clear that I have no intention of returning.  We can always do that tomorrow or when we get word that the situation is improved.  In my heart, I am afraid, however, that I cannot continue to command their respect and pray for strength.


Dutch Original

Kitty en de kinderen zeeziek; is dan ook ruw weder. Slapen in mijn hut op kooi, bank en de grond terwijl ik i/d [in de] kaartenkamer o/d [op de] bank pit.

Des middags keert ineens de ‘Siporok’ terug, wat een groote onrust onder de Inl. bemanning te weeg brengt. Beginnen te praten over dienstweigering, indien ik niet terug ga en ben ik bang voor sabotage.  Ook de etat-major is niet heelemaal gerust.  Niet alleen over hun gezin maar ook over de groote risico die we zoo ver v/d [van de] wal af loopen, te meer waar het weer er niet beter op wordt.

Spreek ze echter allen toe en laat uitkomen dat ik vast niet terugga. Kunnen we altijd morgen of zoo nog doen als de berichten beter zijn. In mijn hart ben ik echter bang of ik ze kan blijven imponeeren en bid om sterkte.


Supplementary Information